QuestionsAmericas

How the Incas grew corn in the driest desert on the planet

Scientists on the secret of the "white gold" of the Incas in the Chilean Atacama Desert

Bwhite gold - something without which it would be impossible to grow crops in the desert. If everything was more or less clear with water, then the issue of soil enrichment remained open for many years. Recent studies by a group of scientists have finally explained how the ancient Incas grew corn, chili peppers, zucchini and other crops in the planet's driest desert, the Atacama.

Chilean Atacama Desert, which is located in the north of the country, is undoubtedly one of the five most arid places on our planet. For four centuries in Atacame no significant precipitation was observed, and in its individual regions for the entire time of meteorological observations not a single rain was recorded.

Water is not enough even for a normal existence, and its practical absence makes agriculture unprofitable. The lack of nutrients in the soil is the second most important reason that hinders the cultivation of crops.

Atacama
Atacama - "dry land" No. 1 of the planet

Despite all these "amenities", people inhabited the Atacama long before the introduction of intensive technologies in agricultural production.

They actually not only existed, but also grew numerous plants. Scientists have unraveled this extremely interesting question. For the sake of justice, it should be said that the technology of agriculture in Atacama was developed and successfully applied by local residents centuries before the arrival of the Incas to the "Dry Land".

Water and desert: solution number one

Although the flat part of the desert is almost lifeless, but, like in any desert, there are oases in the Atacama in which water is present. The problem of lack of water resources was solved directly at the expense of water from oases and the construction of complex irrigation systems.

Читайте также
Atacama settlement
Photo of an ancient settlement with canals: by Roberto Izaurieta

As for the nutrients in the soil, the solution that the locals came to was only able to unravel in our time.

Travelgide.ru: the study analyzed the remains of 246 crops and plants found in fourteen archaeological campaigns on the Atacama land.

The entire period of research covers almost 3 thousand years and makes it possible to understand the development of agriculture in several ancient civilizations, followed by the Incas, and then European colonialists, up to the 19th century.

Soil: solution to problem number two

Strange as it may seem at first glance, but the border of the driest desert in the world adjoins the Pacific Ocean. Although this has little effect on the rainfall situation in the Atacama, it allows tens of thousands of birds to form their colonies on the coastal cliffs.

Places of permanent bird colonies are characterized by the presence of guano (decomposed droppings). It is known that guano is used as an effective nitrogen-phosphorus fertilizer. This natural fertilizer significantly increases the yield. It was he who was used by the Incas and more ancient peoples to fertilize the soil.

cormorants
Guanay cormorants on the Pacific coast

Guano was delivered from the coastal cliffs to the fields at distances of 100 km or more. And one fact made it possible to find out. The fact is that even a small amount of guano fertilizer has a huge impact on the percentage of nitrogen isotopes in crops, raising their level much higher than is possible naturally or using any other fertilizer.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button
en_USEN

ВопросыСтраны Америки

Как инки выращивали кукурузу в самой сухой пустыне на планете

Учёные о секрете "белого золота" инков в Чилийской пустыне Атакама

Белое золото — то, без чего вырастить урожай в пустыне было бы невозможно. Ели с водой всё было более менее понятно, то вопрос обогащения почвы оставался открытым долгие годы. Недавние исследования, проведённые группой учёных, наконец объяснили каким образом древние инки выращивали кукурузу, перец чили, кабачки и другие сельскохозяйственные культуры в самой сухой пустыне планеты Атакама.

Чилийская пустыня Атакама, которая находится на севере страны, несомненно входит в пятёрку наиболее засушливых мест нашей планеты планете. На протяжении четырёх столетий в Атакаме не наблюдалось существенных осадков, а в её отдельных районах за всё время метеонаблюдений не было зафиксировано не одного дождя.

Воды не хватает даже для обычного существования, а её практическое отсутствие делает земледелие нерентабельным. Нехватка питательных веществ в почве является второй по значимости причиной, которая мешает выращивать сельхозкультуры.

Атакама
Атакама — «сухая земля» №1 планеты

Не смотря на все эти «приятности», люди заселяли Атакаму задолго до внедрение интенсивных технологий в сельскохозяйственное производство.

Они на самом деле не просто существовали, но и выращивали многочисленные растения. Учёные разгадали этот крайне интересный вопрос. Ради справедливости следует сказать, что технология земледелия в Атакаме была разработана и успешно применялась местными жителями ещё за столетия до прихода инков на «Сухую землю».

Вода и пустыня: решение проблемы номер один

Хотя равнинная часть пустыни практически безжизненна, но, как и в любой пустыне, в Атакаме есть оазисы, в которых присутствует вода. Проблема недостатка водных ресурсов решалась непосредственно за счёт воды из оазисов и строительства сложных ирригационных систем.

Поселение Атакама
Фото древнего поселения с каналами: автор Роберто Изауриета

Что касается питательных веществ в почве, то решение, к которому пришли местные жители, удалось разгадать только в наше время.

Travelgide.ru: в ходе исследования были проанализированы останки 246 сельскохозяйственных культур и растений, обнаруженных в четырнадцати археологических походах на землю Атакамы.

Весь период исследований охватывает почти 3 тысячи лет и даёт возможность понять развитие земледелия в нескольких древних цивилизациях, за которыми пришли инки, а затем европейские колонизаторы, вплоть до 19 века.

Почва: решение проблемы номер два

Как не странно покажется на первый взгляд, но граница самой сухой пустыни в мире примыкает к Тихому океану. Хотя это мало сказывается на ситуации с дождями в Атакаме, однако даёт возможность десяткам тысяч птиц образовывать свои колонии на прибрежных скалах.

Места постоянных колоний птиц характерны наличием гуано (разложившийся помёт). Известно, что гуано используется в качестве эффективного азотно-фосфорного удобрения. Данное природное удобрение значительным образом повышает урожайность. Именно его и использовали инки и более древние народы для удобрения почвы.

бакланы
Гуанайские бакланы на побережье Тихого океана

Гуано доставляли с прибрежных скал на поля на расстояния 100 км и более. А выяснить это позволил один факт. Дело в том, что даже небольшое количество удобрений из гуано оказывает огромное влияние на процентное соотношение изотопов азота в сельхозкультурах, поднимая их уровень намного выше, чем это возможно естественным путем или с использованием любого другого удобрения.

Добавить комментарий

Ваш адрес email не будет опубликован.

Кнопка «Наверх»